my poems in spanish!

The amazing Andrea Rivas has translated three of my poems into Spanish for the journal CÍRCULO DE POESÍA.

poesia-de-nueva-zelanda

Gendered Poetics / Poéticas de género

How we land / Cómo llegamos a tierra

Mother / Madre

I don’t have a word of Spanish. But I do know that translation is quite a feat. I know what goes into it, and how involved with a poem the translator has to be. And so I am honoured that Andrea has given my poems that attention and that energy to bring them to a new audience.

Aurally, it is quite fun to look at these new poems (because they are new poems, these versions are as much by Andrea as they are by me – co-authored!)

In particular the ending of ‘Mother’ which ends

drip

drip

drip

and ‘Madre’ ends

goteo

goteo

goteo

Which becomes less sinister and more guttural. I love it!

 

I am in good company in Andrea’s translations of NZ poets:
Ria Masae
Mariana Isara
Kiri Piahana-Wong
Anne Kennedy
Louise Wallace
Amber Esau
Kim M. Melhuish
Hera Lindsay-Bird

 

Comments Off on my poems in spanish!

Filed under Poetry

Comments are closed.